Caraval

27883214by Stephanie Garber
YA Fantasy
4 of 5 stars
Debut novel: January 31, 2017

Like many other people, I’ve been itching to attend Caraval for a year! Ever since the beautiful ARCs started popping up (honestly, a bit before that) it’s been on my list as a shiny 2017 debut waiting to sweep me away. And for the most part, it succeeded! I was indeed, swept away to a strange island of magic and mystery and mind games.

Scarlett and Tella have been trying to find a way to escape their abusive father for years. Then their chance comes, when Scarlett’s long-unanswered letters to Legend, master of Caraval, earns them tickets to the annual event. Once there, Tella goes missing and Scarlett realizes that finding Tella is this year’s game. With the help of Julian, the roguish sailor who took them to the island, Scarlett attempts to decipher the clues to her sister’s whereabouts as increasingly sinister things start happening.

For me, this was a strange case of loving the world and the magic more than the characters. Scarlett is a prudish, timid heroine, and I frequently felt like I was far more excited about Caraval than she was, despite it being her lifelong dream to go! She, Tella, and Julian don’t get as much depth as I would like. Caraval is fast-paced, but I still thought we’d have a minute for them to break out of their assigned roles.

What kept me turning pages was the mystery and dark whimsy of Caraval! The shops, the bargains, the strangely magical items all had me anxious to keep exploring. The strange feeling that magic was real—but only on the island—and the fact that Caraval players always remind each other that it’s all a game kept me on my toes.

The ending definitely surprised me! Was I swept away? Yes. Did I get “swept too far”? Not quite—but I think future books might achieve that magic. Pick this up for a blazingly fast read that will keep you guessing!

If you’d like to see more reviews or buy a copy for yourself, Futhermore is available on Goodreads and on Barnes & Noble’s website here. Please consider supporting your local bookstore!


Similar reads:

  • Kingdom of Ash and Briars by Hannah West – Another case of the world and magic capturing me more than the character, but maybe I’m in the minority! Bristal discovers she has magical abilities and becomes one of the guardians of peace between three countries on an island nation. Fairy tales blend with Bristal’s story too! See my review here.
  • Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake – A magical island with triplet princesses that must fight to the death for the crown–what’s not to like? Complicated sister relationships, court intrigue, and dark magic abound. See my review here.
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – If you can’t get enough of mysterious circuses and games, try this! Celia and Marco are two magicians trained to oppose each other by their instructors–but when they finally meet, they fall in love.
  • Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody – Still need more creepy circus magic? This summer’s debut follows illusion-worker Sorina who must discover how and why her illusion companions are being murdered!
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Wintersong | To Live a Thousand Lives

Leave a Reply

