Writing Update – First draft fun!

This is a post I’ve been looking forward to for a long time! On October 4th, I started my rough draft of Fox Story. I now have almost 10,000 words!

It is not the easiest draft I’ve worked on, but I think I can polish this rock into the gem it’s meant to be. The characters are slower to open up than the ones I’ve written before, but they also have more depth to explore. Basically, although it’s the hardest project I’ve attempted, it’s also the most interesting and exciting for me! Even on slower days when I have to find the words one sentence at a time, I love working on it and seeing it come to life. Some of the challenges were intentional, some have popped up along the way, but I know working through these is going to make me a better writer.

I am still determined to finish this draft by the end of the year, in spite of shows (The Naked and Famous! Swan Lake!), holidays, and continued research. For now, back to the cave…

sleepy_fox_01

Leave a Reply

