What’s new this month

Summer is typically slower in terms of new releases but these next couple of months are exceptionally light for me. (Just as well, since my TBR is still teetering at around 15 books!) Here are a couple that I’m looking forward to this month:

257005446/15 – Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale – by David Kudler

This is historical fiction with elements of magic set in ancient Japan. Risuko is a young girl who would rather be climbing trees than almost anything else. Yet she gets drawn into the political conflicts and intrigue that could decide the fate and future of her country. I love everything about this concept! It seems to be straddling the line between MG and YA, and is getting pretty decent reviews on Goodreads from the free Netgalley copies. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for this character! The premise is unique and if the voice is compelling, I’m sold.

More info here: Goodreads and Barnes & Noble


253241116/28 – And I Darken – by Kiersten White

The legends of Dracula / Vlad the Impaler come together in Lada, the dragon’s daughter. Court intrigue, sibling relationships, battles — all loosely drawn from history? Sign me up! This is getting incredible reviews (including the notoriously impossible to please Khanh on Goodreads) so I’m very excited! It’s the first in a trilogy and I’m hoping it has similar vibes to The Young Elites in terms of anti-heroes and destroying the idea of “good guys” and “bad guys.” I’m also a sucker for sibling relationships, so I’m interested to see how that plays out. As with all first person stories, the voice is key to my enjoyment but if Lada is as ruthless as critics say, I will love her.

More info here: Goodreads and Barnes & Noble

Leave a Reply

