Cress

13206828by Marissa Meyer
YA Fantasy / Science Fiction
3 of 5 stars
Third in a quartet

I feel like the last person to read Winter since it came out…four months ago? But I wanted to re-read the entire series first so I spent all of February doing just that! At first, I debated whether I’d even read Cress again (I know) because I felt so pressed for time and I didn’t remember enjoying it all that much the first time I read it. It felt slower, I didn’t connect to Cress as much as I did with Cinder or Scarlet, and if I skipped its 550 pages I’d be reading Winter that much sooner! But thanks to Erin’s encouragement and Kiwi’s review, I picked up a paperback and gave it a second chance. I’m so glad I did! I actually changed my rating on Goodreads (something I’ve never done before) from 2 stars to 3 stars. It’s still my least favorite in the series so far, but the writing is good and this story has none of the errors warranting 2 stars on my rating scale. Unfair rating – overturned!

Cress has spent the last seven years living on a Lunar satellite spying on Earth (particularly Prince Kai and the Commonwealth) for Queen Levana. And secretly protecting Earth and subverting Luna whenever she could. Her skills with hacking and programming are top-notch, which is great, because Cinder’s team needs to stay hidden. When they rescue Cress from her satellite, she thinks her fairy tale dreams are about to come true—until she and Thorne crash-land in the desert, separated from the rest of the crew.

The break-neck speed of the first two books doesn’t last in this one. The pacing loses any sense of urgency as we meander from satellite to desert to final mission. I understand Cress is experiencing the world for the first time, but her lengthy observations and constant emotional assessments drag the action to a gentle walk. Despite all the time we spend in her head, she never feels as concrete as Cinder, Scarlet, or the rest of the crew. She’s understandably coping with issues from her extreme isolation and abusive upbringing, and although this is realistic and well-done, it means her point of view lacks some focus and depth.

However, there’s still plenty of wry humor, laugh out loud moments, and adventure. Kai and Cinder’s complicated relationship gets more time in this book, and Iko is hilarious. Definitely one of the stronger YA series on the market, and I can’t wait to see how it ends!

If you’d like to see more reviews or buy a copy for yourself, Cress is available on Goodreads and on Barnes & Noble’s website here. Please consider supporting your local bookstore!


Similar reads:

  • Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo – I feel like Carswell Thorne and Nikolai would get along famously or tear each other apart. This remains one of my favorite “middle books” in a series due to all the action and the fantastic characters. Alina can’t leave her identity as the Sun Summoner or her past with the Darkling behind no matter how far she runs. New allies, new enemies, more dark magic. Alina must make sacrifices to save her country from the Darkling’s rule.
  • Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas – The second in the series finds King’s Assassin Celaena Sardothien surrounded by potential allies and enemies in the court. A greater destiny is calling her that won’t be put off by her petty attempts to undermine the King’s rule. See my review here.
  • A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan – Rosalinda Fitzroy awakens from 62 years of statis to find that everyone she loved is dead, and she is the missing heir to her parents’ interplanetary empire. Rose just wants to pick up the pieces of her life, but not everyone is happy to see her again. This is a dark Sleeping Beauty retelling with an amazing character arc.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erinkbay
    Mar 15, 2016 @ 20:55:30

    I AM SO HAPPY!!!!!!!!! I’m so glad you gave it another chance!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Infinite | To Live a Thousand Lives
  3. Trackback: Days of Blood and Starlight | To Live a Thousand Lives
  4. Kiwi
    Mar 24, 2016 @ 14:47:03

    Like Erin, I’m super happy you gave it another go! IT WAS AN AWESOME BOOK

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

