It’s my blog’s birthday and you get a gift!

Cupcake-blackbackgroundMy little book blog turns one today!

This began as a fun project for me to keep track of what I was reading and to have an easy way of sharing those reviews with others. A couple of people mentioned that my Goodreads was a factor in their reading decisions (I can’t imagine anything more flattering!), and I thought this would be a cool way to connect people with more books they love.

Lots of algorithms try to do that, but in my experience it tends to bring up the same books over and over, and it’s so obvious that the computer hasn’t read anything to determine the similarities of authors or stories. How could it? That’s what I’m trying to create here: reviews with links to more reviews that I think are similar because I’ve actually read them all.

When I looked back on the year there were a few moments that stood out as highlights to me. Here are the links to two of my favorite posts of 2015:

A Tarot Reading of Your Novel – This got a lot of traffic when Maggie Stiefvater discovered it (thanks to my lovely friend Erin!) and it was nice to have my work recognized. I put a lot of thought into this post and I think it’s one of the most unique things I’ve written.

and

2015 – Year in Review

This was just fun to do because I got to see all the books I read (both the amazing and not-so-good) and it felt like a major accomplishment.

UPDATED: This giveaway is now closed – congrats to Hailey and Ali!

As part of my celebration, I’m doing a giveaway! Enter to win a signed 1st edition of Veronica Roth’s Insurgent, or an (unsigned) 1st edition of Allegiant! (U.S. winners only – To my international readers, (I love you!) but I can’t ship these books outside of the U.S. at this time).
Click here to enter!

 

Thank you to each of my followers for such a fun year! Here’s to a second one, and happy reading! ❤

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katy Pool
    Mar 14, 2016 @ 11:19:31

    Ahhh congrats on 1 year Amanda!! I LOVE reading your take on books (even when they’re books I’ve already read!) and I’m SO impressed you’ve kept up with this so consistently for a whole year!!

    Here’s to many more!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Amanda
    Mar 14, 2016 @ 11:30:56

    Thanks so much Katy!! ❤

    Like

    Reply

  3. erinkbay
    Mar 14, 2016 @ 16:42:26

    Has it already been a year since you’ve started your wonderful blog??!!!!! Time goes so fast!!! Yay!!! Congratulations, Manda Panda!!! Your blog is amazing and I love seeing your reviews!!!!! Yay!!! So excited!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Ali @ Arctic Books
    Mar 14, 2016 @ 17:49:40

    Happy blogoversary; congrats!! Here’s to many more!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Cindy
    Mar 17, 2016 @ 00:07:58

    Congratulations on your first blogiversary!! Hoping for many more!
    Just curious, what makes a 1st edition book different from any other? (I was wondering, since those two look like all of the other copies I have seen before, and I keep seeing the term “1st edition”.)
    Congrats again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Amanda
      Mar 17, 2016 @ 06:55:15

      Thank you! 1st editions are typically the most valuable because it’s the smallest print run. Later print runs can also make subtle changes or corrections to the text. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  6. Hailey M
    Mar 17, 2016 @ 12:54:53

    Wow!!! I have not read the books yet but I totally love the movies!! Congratulations on your blog anniversary!!! Good luck everyone and thank you for the awesome giveaway!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Eve Messenger
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 08:55:06

    Your “tarot” post has such a cool title. What a unique idea. I’m totally going check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. Amanda
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 09:19:09

    Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

