2016 Writing Goals

It’s January, and new goals are required. Although I ended up writing more than I expected last year, I want to greatly expand on that this year. I’m overhauling my YA fantasy novel again, and I want to have it ready for submission this spring (i.e. by May 15th!). Having a goal like that instantly makes it feel like winter is already over and I’m out of time, but that’s simply not true. However, this is a huge reason why I chose to cut my book reviews down to one a week instead of two. I simply can’t prioritize both and get anything worthwhile done.

What do I need to do in order to have my novel on submission in 4-5 months?

1) Finish all writing revisions (minor plot tweaks, cut some bad scenes, rework other scenes, and make the first half as fun and exciting as the second half)

2) Do a final read-through of the entire manuscript

3) While I’m reading it, I will probably ask some of my amazing CP’s to look at the final version and get some feedback

4) Write an absolutely top-notch, kick-ass query letter, and a synopsis (this will be the most hellish part)

5) Compile an updated list of dream agents to receive my amazing query letter and first chapters

That’s the first half of the year. What do I want to do once I’m on submission?

1) Begin serious work on the sequel to my fantasy novel (finalize the plot and start writing a few scenes)

2) Finish revisions on my YA contemporary novel, which is currently sitting at 60% revised. I want this book ready to submit in 2017, if I choose to do so.

I’m reasonably confident that if I don’t get lazy or stuck in a really bad rut of zero inspiration I can accomplish these goals. Half the battle is committing in the first place, right? I also have an amazing group of CP’s to help me out when I’m stuck! (A big thank you in advance goes to: Akshaya, Janella, Maddy, Erin, Katy, Christine and Ella! All of their writing adventures are on their lovely blogs.)

If you’re thinking that sounds like a lot of work, trust me, so am I! But thankfully I have a new writing buddy to hang out with while I plug away at these goals. Meet Kiwi! She is a mini dachshund puppy and pretty much perfect. 🙂

IMG_20160101_140028

The two of us will be spending plenty of time cozy by the fire. ❤

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eve Messenger
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 11:20:43

    Way to set a target date and figure out everything you need to do to get there. You are obviously dedicated to your craft.

    Now a word about Kiwi. . . My immediate response upon seeing her picture –I kid you not–was to whine in the most annoying dog-lover voice ever: “Oh my god, that is the cutest baby in the whole world.” She is seriously adorable. We used to have one of those hedgehog toys, too–until my brilliant, neurotic miniature poodle ate it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Cheyanne
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 11:22:21

    You can do it!!! And your pup is ADORABLE

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. erinkbay
    Jan 09, 2016 @ 18:20:28

    HAHA, THANKS, AMANDA, I REALLY AM AMAZING *flips hair*!!! But I love these goals!!!! You’re totally going to achieve all of them and beyond!!! I’m so excited for all the things happening in 2016!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Kiwi Reads
    Jan 11, 2016 @ 10:21:24

    Your dog’s name is Kiwi! YAY!

    These goals are awesome — you have a great year ahead of you! Cheers (in advance) to full MS requests! You’ll be agented by the end of the year, I declare it right now 😀 (with my magic)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

