2015 – Year in Review

I read 63 books this year! (23,312 pages) Not bad considering my goal in January was….25.

I bought 31 books, received 1 as a gift, and found 1 for free (thanks, random person who gave up their ARC of The Rose Society!).

When I started this blog I had no idea what I would end up reading or if I truly would like most of the books I picked up. After a few years “off” (working too much to read almost anything), I wasn’t sure how my year would go. Which is why I thought 25 books in a year would be a lot…! As it turns out, two-thirds of the books I encountered I loved! 2015 was a great year for books:

5 stars – 24%
4 stars – 39%
3 stars – 27%
2 stars – 10%

I had a busy year!

Out of all of these books, which one was my Best Read of 2015?

six of crows

SIX OF CROWS. (See my review here!) Of all the books I read this year, the entire experience with this one was flawless, plain and simple. Characters, world, plot, pacing, the prose itself–zero complaints. And it looks beautiful! The outside reflects the inside. As a bonus, the Spotify playlist is perfect as well. So add this to your list because you don’t want to be left behind when the sequel comes out next year!

And which one is the runner-up? Best Surprise Read of 2015 goes to….

Uprooted / Vengeance Road (yes, I cheated and picked 2)

Uprooted is the fantasy novel I didn’t know I was looking for until my good friend Erin pushed it into my hands (thank you Erin!!). From the first page, I was hooked. It was truly difficult to choose between this book and Six of Crows as my best read of the year! (See my review here!)

Vengeance Road gets my #2 surprise spot because I honestly didn’t think I would like it at all going into it. If Maddy hadn’t given me her extra copy, this probably would have sat dormant on my list until….next summer? If it was lucky. I don’t like westerns, or dialect writing–but I loved this book! Breezed through it and I couldn’t believe how much I enjoyed it. (See my review here!)

These two books are the reason I’m giving recommendations higher priority next year – I don’t want to miss out on anything!

New Things Coming for 2016

I have some new things to try for 2016 – I want to read 1 classic novel a month. As stated above, I want to keep up with recommendations from my friends! They read good books too–why do I ever doubt this?? I want to re-read Harry Potter (because it’s been probably 3 years so I’m overdue). But with all these come some other changes. I’ve been writing my own novel for quite some time, and as much as I love reading and reviewing books, it’s begun to cut into the time I have for working on my own.

So next year, every Tuesday I will have a new review for you, and Fridays will be for fun: tags, monthly previews, series re-read prompts, and updates from the writing cave. This was a crazy, fun year, and a huge thank you goes to each of my followers! It’s been so fun meeting you all and seeing your blogs! I hope we all have an amazing 2016!

THIS IS MY LAST POST FOR 2015 – HAPPY NEW YEAR!

January

February

March

April

May

June

July

August

September

October

November

December

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erinkbay
    Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:40:34

    AMANDA!!!! I LOVE this post!!!!! Yippee!!! UPROOTED!!!! I’m still so happy that we can obsess over it!!!! I think I read bout 60ish books this year, too (I think this is the first year that I kept track actually), but I’m just so impressed (as always) that you’re able to keep up with writing so many reviews!!! But this post is amazing!!! I love seeing visually how many books you read/reviewed each month! I love the plan you have for your blog next year and I can’t wait to see it!! (Also, sounds like I should really read Vengeance Road!!!! I had no idea you liked it so much!!! I mean, runner up in tie with Uprooted has to mean *something* 🙂 🙂 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Amanda
      Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:10:50

      Aww, thanks Erin!! (Seriously, Vengeance Road is amazing, but a lot of that was the ending and the winning-me-over-to-westerns aspect, but read it asap!) I already feel like I have so much to read and I want to write so much more – why do I have to work full-time again? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Katy Pool
    Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:53:54

    Dang that is an attractive set of books! I’m excited to see what books you recommend in 2016! <3<3

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Cheyanne
    Dec 30, 2015 @ 09:17:11

    Happy New Year! Great job reading 63 books this year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Trackback: It’s my blog’s birthday and you get a gift! | To Live a Thousand Lives

Leave a Reply

