Days of Blood and Starlight

Days of Blood and Starlightby Laini Taylor
YA Fantasy
4 of 5 stars

It took me far too long to get around to this sequel (about 8 months) but part of it was the fear that it wouldn’t measure up to my love of Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Thankfully, it didn’t disappoint! However, anyone hoping for some more Karou/Akiva time would be bummed—our two fantastic protagonists rarely meet in this book. Normally that would bother me, but in this case I was so engrossed in both of their plot lines I didn’t care—each time the point of view shifted I was just as interested, which is rare for me, especially since this book broadened to more viewpoint characters than the first one.

Although this is a very dark sequel, I still found myself enjoying it. Karou and Akiva are put in impossible situations with horrible villains (brutal, horrible villains) yet they don’t give up or despair. Their exhaustion, depression, and fear is palpable, but I love these characters because they feel it all without dragging the reader into twenty pages of introspection. They feel it all as they keep making decisions and taking action. They are still the fiery characters I fell in love with! My one complaint about the first book was that the side characters felt a bit cardboard to me, but that’s gone with this installment and aside from the pacing being a pinch slow, I loved this book!

I’ll attempt to make the final book more of a priority, but I admit the atmosphere (and the twist!) of this one is still soaking in.

If you’d like to see more reviews or buy a copy for yourself, Days of Blood and Starlight is available on Goodreads and on Barnes & Noble’s website here. Please consider supporting your local bookstore!


Similar reads:

  • The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski – A war with rising stakes, continually changing strategy, and a pair of star-crossed lovers caught in the middle (both by the war and their feelings for each other)? This is a pretty fair comparable trilogy if you remove magic. See my review here.
  • Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo – Another sequel leaving the dark forces as the only ones better off by the end, this is a worthy middle book in a YA fantasy trilogy. Except the villains might be more palatable in their villainy.
  • Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare – Tangled webs of romance, spies, and darkness rule this book, possibly my favorite in the trilogy. Tessa continues hunting down clues to her past and true identity while learning more about Will and Jem and their feelings for her.
  • Cress by Marissa Meyer – A bit overlong, but similar in tone and point of view to Laini Taylor’s trilogy. Cress is our newest heroine, freed from her satellite prison by Cinder’s crew and ready to help overthrow Levana. Add a touch of romance and a lot of adventure, and you have a good sequel. See my review here.
  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins – A bit too similar to first book for my taste, but with additional compelling characters and shocking developments with the unrest of the districts towards the capital. Katniss continues trying to protect those she loves, but that becomes much more difficult. See my review here.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Shadow Hour | To Live a Thousand Lives

Leave a Reply

