Top 10 Reads for 2016

It’s December, the year is winding down, and instead of a preview for this month, I decided to do a preview for next year! (Because honestly there was nothing added to my TBR list for December…)

2015 was an amazing year full of good books, but just in case you were worried nothing could top it, add these to your list:

Truthwitch

1. TRUTHWITCH by Susan Dennard – 1/5/16

This was pitched on Twitter months ago as Avatar the Last Airbender + pirates + female friendship. DONE. I cannot wait for this book!

Raven King

2. THE RAVEN KING by Maggie Stiefvater – 4/26/15

The twice-delayed much-needed conclusion to this quartet set in small-town Virginia plagued by strange magical happenings. I have no idea how this is going to wrap up but I cannot wait to find out!

ACOMAF

3. A COURT OF MIST AND FURY by Sarah J. Maas – 5/3/16

I loved the Tam Lin adaptation of the first book, and this one is going to explore the Night Court – it can only be better, right? Feyre is such a strong, passionate character and I’m sure her journey will continue to be compelling.

The Winner's Kiss

4. THE WINNER’S KISS by Marie Rutkoski – 4/1/16

It took me forever to read this trilogy, but I’m glad because I loved it and the wait for the last book has been torture! Kestrel is my favorite combination of clever and conflicted. She’s fighting on both sides of a war and I have no idea how she and Arin will make it out alive but they must.

Heartless prelim cover

5. HEARTLESS by Marissa Meyer – 11/8/16

The Lunar Chronicles wrapped up last month but we don’t have to wait *too* long until the next fairy tale adaptation from this talented author. The Queen of Hearts rarely gets a sympathetic take, so I’m really intrigued by this project!

Abyss Surrounds Us

6. THE ABYSS SURROUNDS US by  Emily Skrutskie – 2/8/16

Pirate fantasy with dragon-type creatures and lesbians – need I say more?! Next year seems to be very pirate-themed but I love pirates so bring it on. This has a diverse cast as well which is going to be fresh.

Rose and the Dagger

7. THE ROSE AND THE DAGGER by Renee Ahdieh – 5/3/16

The sequel in this retelling of the 1001 nights is sure to have even more magic and suspense! I picked up the first book with a bit of hesitation, but it blew me away. The best part is that this is a duology, so we get the conclusion faster!

8. THRONE OF GLASS #5 by Sarah J. Maas – TBD 2016

She gets two spots on this list – the last book was full of so many powerhouse women, and I’m dying to see how they continue interacting in the next installment.

9. CROOKED KINGDOM by Leigh Bardugo – 9/22/16

This is definitely my MOST anticipated book for next year, but without cover art I stuck it down here. I love all of these characters so much and I’m so antsy to see what happens next! In the meantime, re-reading the first book and listening to the Spotify playlist.

10. THE SONG RISING by Samantha Shannon – TBD 2016

The third installment in the Bone Season series will pick up after Paige’s complicated negotiations within London’s clairvoyant underground. The first book was all right, the second I liked much more, so I’m hoping that trend continues! The previous book ended on a cliff hanger, so November feels very far away.

We’ll see if these live up to the hype! In the meantime, add these to your Goodreads so you don’t miss them. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erinkbay
    Dec 04, 2015 @ 11:21:30

    UM YES YES YES YES YES TO ALLLLL OF THESE!!!! LOVING ALL OF THEM SO HARD!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Amanda
    Dec 04, 2015 @ 11:24:29

    I know, making this list got me so excited already!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. erinkbay
    Dec 06, 2015 @ 12:57:35

    RIGHT??? And only a little over a month before TRUTHWITCH COMES OUT??? OMG OMG OMG *FREAKING OUT******!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Madeleine Colis
    Dec 07, 2015 @ 11:51:40

    YES so many on my list too!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

