Paper Towns

6442769by John Green
YA Contemporary
3 of 5 stars

I’ve read almost every other John Green book so I thought I’d round it out by catching this one. Obviously he has a specific style and formula for his stories, so I kind of knew what to expect, and although I enjoyed some of his other books more, this one still had plenty of hidden gems for me. There’s still some laugh-out-loud moments and thoughtful commentary (even if it feels a bit forceful).

Quentin and Margo could be Miles and Alaska but the bones of the plot are different enough that you can ignore those similarities. When Margo has Q assist with her wild night of pranks before skipping town, Q thinks he is meant to find her. While the quest to locate Margo drags on a bit longer than I’d like, I did enjoy the last third of the book a lot. We spend time on multiple characters’ opinions about why Margo ran away and what would or should happen upon finding her (or if they should even look for her to begin with) and the interplay is compelling. This is a solid entry on the high school coming-of-age shelf and having read four of his novels now, I can say if you like one of them you’d probably enjoy the rest.

If you’d like to see more reviews or buy a copy for yourself, Paper Towns is available on Goodreads and on Powell’s store website here. Powell’s has several locations in Oregon, and is one of the largest independent bookstores in the country. Please consider supporting your local bookstore!


Similar reads:

  • Looking for Alaska by John Green – I know, but seriously, I still view his first novel as my favorite of his, and I think it’s a bit of a touchstone for YA. Also, this has the same nostalgic feeling for summer camp and high school like a few other books I’d recommend. And if you’re in high school, trade “nostalgic feeling” for “rings true but clear it’s with a graduate’s perspective.” See my review here.
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – This is one of those “high school nostalgia” stories I just mentioned. This covers a longer period of time but the feeling is there. See my review here.
  • Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – Another quintessential high school story that lacks the mission of Paper Towns but fills it with all the feelings of first love instead. See my review here.
  • Mosquitoland by David Arnold – Mim is not okay with her new step-family situation. When she finds out her mother is sick, she decides to take a solo road trip to see her. This has a lot of the same vibes as Paper Towns. See my review here.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erinkbay
    Nov 13, 2015 @ 11:58:10

    Merh, gotta say.. I don’t like John Green, just totally not my style of book 😀 Weirdly, I have most of his books… O__O

    Like

    Reply

  2. Amanda
    Nov 13, 2015 @ 12:10:43

    1. It’s hit or miss for me, definitely have to be in the mood
    2. You have all the books, all the time, so are we surprised? 😉
    3. How d’ya like my use of his list format?
    4. I think I did it rather well.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

