What’s new this month

Here are a few books I’m looking forward to this July:

Ink and Bone7/7 – Ink and Bone – by Rachel Caine

The mythic Alexandrian Library is always something that piques my interest. In this case it houses the antagonists, the elite who control knowledge and ban the private ownership of books. I love the tangled emotion put into the blurb, about the Library’s value vs the ability to find knowledge and own it yourself. It’s not black and white and I think there’s potential here for a lot of fascinating conflicts and commentary. This sounds like something different and worth checking out.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


Silver in the Blood7/7 – Silver in the Blood – by Jessica Day George

This falls into the somewhat typical YA fantasy/paranormal genre, but there are a few key things that put this on my list. First of all, that cover art! Love. It. Second, by going to Romania I’m hoping this becomes a mashup of Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter universe and Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy. Eastern European influences combined with magic and a central female friendship? Girls discovering their powers together? Yes.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


Go Set a Watchman7/14 – Go Set a Watchman – by Harper Lee

It’s safe to say this novel is unprecedented! There is some controversy about releasing this volume, but since it is coming out whether I agree with the decision or not, I feel compelled to read what she spent so much time working on. To Kill a Mockingbird is such an important novel, and I’m sure having this companion piece will be valuable, too. It follows many of the same characters twenty years after the events in her first novel, and I’m intrigued to see how Scout’s mindset has changed and how she feels about those memories.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


Pretending to be Erica7/21 – Pretending to Be Erica – by Michelle Painchaud – Debut novel

This novel’s premise gripped me immediately – I couldn’t believe it was a debut at first. A girl pretending to be a missing heiress years later to pull off a heist? It’s bold and unique, and I can’t wait to read it! I’m curious to see if the writing lives up to the plot, but I’m hoping this turns out to be one of the more memorable books this summer.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon

Leave a Reply

