A Court of Thorns and Roses

16096824by Sarah J. Maas
Fantasy
5 of 5 stars

This is a book I’ve been dying to read since it was announced at least six months ago (possibly longer, and I just blocked out the terribly long wait). It’s been described as Beauty and the Beast/East of the Sun, West of the Moon/Tam Lin – and I love all of those stories! Now it features a badass Maas heroine with all the dark magic and swoon-worthy scenes I can imagine? I’m not sure what she could do to make me dislike this story – not sure if that’s even possible!

Naturally, I went to my bookstore a day early to see if they had put it out already, and they did, so I devoured it immediately. The characters – the plot – the world – the magic – I loved it all! And as usual, some of my favorite moments were the ones I couldn’t have predicted. The scenes with Feyre and Nesta – without spoilers all I can say is this was my absolute favorite relationship in the story.

For anyone who has read some of her work, Heir of Fire really let Maas start exploring intense emotional depth with her characters, and this book jumps straight into those painful moments of reforging that strike right to the heart. Feyre’s journey feels faster and smoother than Celaena’s, and I was captivated throughout.

This is a fairy tale retelling but the nods throughout aren’t heavy enough that you know exactly what’s going to happen. So much of this world and its magic is new that there’s still the feeling of following Feyre on her own unique quest, with familiar moments here and there. Pacing is a huge thing for me, and this story lets you spend just the right amount of time in each scene.

Although this is definitely in the same vein as the Throne of Glass series, it has mature content that isn’t present there. Personally, I think fans of that series are sure to love this one too!

If you’d like to see more reviews or buy a copy for yourself, A Court of Thorns and Roses is available on Goodreads and its parent company Amazon. Please consider supporting your local bookstore!


Similar reads:

  • Rose Daughter by Robin McKinley – A fairy tale retelling that is simply beautiful, and a must-read if you enjoy Beauty and the Beast.
  • East by Edith Pattou – I read this a long time ago but it was interesting and a good intro to the story East of the Sun, West of the Moon. The world-building enthralled me even if some of the character viewpoints did not, and the legend itself is one of my favorites.
  • Beast by Donna Jo Napoli – A rare version of Beauty and the Beast from the beast’s perspective. Napoli specializes in myth/fairy tale retellings and they tend to be a bit strange. Her take is always unique, and if you like one of her books you will probably like the rest.
  • The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black – Normally I would recommend Tithe as a similar read, since it’s a Tam Lin retelling, but this book is similar as well and more polished than Tithe. See my review here.
  • Sabriel by Garth Nix – I know I recommend this all the time, but it’s a girl saving a kingdom from the Dead with sorcery and a lost prince. It’s wonderful, and from a time when female heroines were hard to come by. See my review here.
  • Tithe by Holly Black – Kai finds herself involved with the Queen of the Unseelie Court after she accidentally claims the name (and life-debt) of her favorite knight. See my review here.
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Uprooted | To Live a Thousand Lives
  2. Trackback: Heir of Fire | To Live a Thousand Lives
  3. Trackback: Queen of Shadows Giveaway! | To Live a Thousand Lives
  4. Trackback: Queen of Shadows | To Live a Thousand Lives
  5. Trackback: Captive Prince | To Live a Thousand Lives
  6. Trackback: What to read again: | To Live a Thousand Lives

Leave a Reply

