What’s new this month

These are some books I’m excited about this May. Here’s a little bit about each of them:

ACOTAR5/5 – A Court of Thorns and Roses – by Sarah J. Maas

She pitched this as a re-imagined Beauty and the Beast/East of the Sun, West of the Moon/Tam Lin and I was sold immediately. I’m expecting all things Maas at an even more polished level: a badass heroine, conflicted men/fairies, magic, betrayal, destiny and more! Beauty and the Beast is my favorite fairy tale, and I’m excited to see what she does with it. This is set to be a high fantasy trilogy, releasing simultaneously with her Throne of Glass series.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


Wrath and the Dawn5/12 – The Wrath and the Dawn – by Renee Ahdieh

The Thousand and One Nights is one of my favorite myths and I’m always intrigued by a retelling of the woman who won the brutal king’s heart with stories. Little is made of Scheherazade falling in love with the king, but in this version Shazi struggles with the knowledge that she might come to love the man responsible for so many girls’ deaths, including some of her friends. This already has a sequel slated for 2016.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


PS I still love you5/26 – P.S. I Still Love You – by Jenny Han

I admit, I didn’t think much of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, but I partly feel this is due to bad marketing. This is listed as YA but it felt very middle-grade to me in terms of character and plot (see my review here). Now that I have some idea of what to expect, I am curious to see how the dualogy ends and I think it will make a good poolside read this summer. The one redeeming quality it has (aside from the cover art) is a non-white protagonist, but this aspect is barely touched on in the first book so I’m not sure if it will be more prevalent in this one.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. erinkbay
    May 01, 2015 @ 15:48:17

    ACOTAR!!!!! Can you believe it?? Only a couple more days now!!! Also, I’m really looking forward to The Wrath and the Dawn and I just bought To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

