What’s new this month

These are the books I’m excited about this April. In no particular order, here’s a little bit about each of them:

Becoming Jinn4/21 – Becoming Jinn – by Lori Goldstein – debut novel

I’ve kicked around the idea of writing about jinn/genies myself, so the concept alone was enough to grab me here. Taking an ancient aspect of story-telling and pulling it into modern day can be hit-or-miss for me, so we’ll see how that goes. It’s a debut novel so I expect a few kinks, but if the characters leap off the page I will invest in this series for sure! A sequel is already slated for 2016.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


Rook4/28 – Rook – by Sharon Cameron

The cover art and ending line of the blurb sold this to me. Mystery and intrigue between two characters supposedly in a trusting relationship? The opportunities for entertainment and twists are endless! I’m hoping for a lot of good dialogue and awkward situations here – and hopefully the mystery is paced well. It’ll be a bummer if it drags or gets revealed too early, I’ve had that happen too often.

++++++++++++++++.More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


The Girl at Midnight

4/28 – The Girl at Midnight – by Melissa Grey – debut novel

I’m desperately hoping this is perfect blend of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Shadow and Bone, and Aladdin. Maybe a dash of mythology too, given that the main character is Echo. Goodreads has it tagged a series, so there may be a cliff-hanger ending. Everyone has their own view of New York City, so I’m interested to see how this one will add to that.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon

Leave a Reply

