What’s new this month

These are all books I’m excited about this March. In no particular order, here’s a little bit about each of them:

The Infinite

3/10 – The Infinite by Lori M Lee – sequel

I got into the debut The Gates of Thread and Stone because of the beautiful cover art. These books are gorgeous – the hardcover has the same image as the jacket. The world-building and character development was a little light for my taste, but the concept was a winner to me. I have yet to see these in brick and mortar bookstores, but my copy arrived a few days ago so I will have a review soon!

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


Shadow Scale

3/10 – Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman – second in duology

I grabbed Seraphina last year on a whim. On the shelf next to all the glossy, moody images of sword-wielding girls, this one seemed to promise something different. The style is rich, with slower pacing, but there was enough suspense to balance it. Seraphina is a compelling character and the issues and questions she faces are thought-provoking.This is one I’ll probably try to pull from a library, but if not it may join my shelf.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


Bones and All3/10 – Bones & All by Camille DeAngelis

This was blurbed in my twitter feed and the concept is so unique I just have to check it out. Maren is a teenager trying to make her way in the world with one slight problem: she eats anyone she gets attached to, bones and all. Abandoned by her mother, she searches for her biological father, and in the meantime encounters fellow cannibals. I’m prepared to be grossed out, but I’m hoping there’s more than that in the story to “chew” on (ya gotta, right?).

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


The Walls Around Us

3/24 – The Walls Around Us – by Nova Ren Suma

The author of Imaginary Girls made me fall in love with her style, so I will definitely be checking this out! I know not everybody got into the characters of Imaginary Girls, but I enjoyed the cinematic quality of it. I’m anticipating more chills and hauntingly vivid prose.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon


Red3/10 – Red by Alyxandra Harvey

Girl with magical fire-making abilities, mysterious estate, adventures abound – the usual, but I’m in. This is the type of story that begs to be skimmed at the very least, because the secrets are the best part. This is a paranormal romance, which isn’t normally my cup of tea, so there’s a bigger risk of disappoint with this one, but I risk it once in a while.

More info here: Goodreads and Amazon

Leave a Reply

